EU passport

An EU Passport is a passport issued by any one of the 28 member states making up the EU. 

EU Passport

EU passports can be distinguished by the words “European Union” on their front cover.  Strictly speaking a common EU passport does not exist; however this term refers to a passport issued by any EU member state.

EU citizenship do not confer the same rights as EU resident status.  An EU citizen is an individual who is a national and holds a passport issued by an EU Member State. On the other hand an EU resident is an individual who has obtained the right to reside or work in one of the EU member states however still holds the citizenship of his country.

A person not holding an EU Passport can make use of the Maltese Individual Investor Programme. It is possible for an individual to take advantage of the benefits of the EU by becoming a citizen of Malta through this programme. By obtaining Maltese citizenship, one would not be renouncing his original citizenship as Dual citizenship is permitted by Maltese Law. However in some countries it is important that one discloses to the relevant national authorities the acquisition of a second citizenship.

One of the benefits of having an EU Passport is the right to live, work and study in any EU country. These reciprocal rights that citizens of EU member states have are a major benefit of European Union citizenship. Freedom of movement is one of the main benefits of an EU Passport. Most of the EU states are part of the Schengen Area which is an area without internal borders, meaning that EU citizens can travel freely without a passport and without being stopped by immigration officials. Also as a citizen of the EU one is able to avail himself of all the rights offered by the member state in which you reside.